Halifax, NS (August 10th, 2020) – Basketball may not be the same right now, but we can’t wait to get back on the court. Many community members volunteer their time to keep basketball thriving in our province, no matter the circumstances, and today, Basketball Nova Scotia is excited to announce the 2020 Frank Baldwin Award Winners. This year, three individuals will receive recognition as builders of the game who have spent timeless hours giving back on the court.

“This year’s pool of nominees was unbelievable, and a tough decision was made by the nominating committee. After a lot of back and forth, these three recipients have inspired and positively impacted so many young basketball players and coaches in our basketball community. Even though basketball has taken a small pause, it’s a great time to recognize those individuals who have been consistent in their love of the game” quotes Katherine Brien, Executive Director of Basketball Nova Scotia.

The Frank Baldwin Award recognizes the countless hours volunteers have dedicated to building, supporting and growing the sport of basketball. This year we are proud to recognize the following individuals;

  • Curtis Coward – Two-time National Champion as Assistant Coach with Basketball Nova Scotia, U15 & U17 Boys (2016 & 2018), Founding member of the JC Rockets Basketball Association, Director and founder of the Justin Coward Memorial Society & Co-Founder of Northern Kings Atlantic, AAU
  • Mike “Jake” Brien– Co-founder of the Bedford Minor Basketball Association, President, Basketball Nova Scotia (2005-2008), Former General Manager of Team Business, Halifax Hurricanes of the NBL
  • Mike MacKay– Three-time Team Nova Scotia Women’s Canada Games Coach, NCCP Master Coach Developer & Facilitator, 20+ year coach with girls’ programs with Basketball Nova Scotia & throughout the Truro area, Performance Manager of Women’s High Performance, Canada Basketball

The Basketball Nova Scotia Family would like to send a big thank you to all the nominees and those who submitted their nominations. This year was one of the tougher decisions made by our committee, but these winners are very deserving. Thank you to the recipients for all that they do to grow our great game!